Problems connecting even on Localhost
ZIYAD A. M. AL-BATLY
zamb at saudi.net.sa
Sat Jun 4 17:24:33 UTC 2005
On Sat, 2005-06-04 at 16:22 +1000, Ken McLennan wrote:
> G'day there Ziyad,
> > * In “Synaptic”, it's the option entitled: “Mark for Complete
> > Removal”.
> Do you know the difference between "Complete" removal & ordinary
> removal? (Before you go into too much detail I must admit that I've not
> even looked into the Synaptic Man pages to see for myself. I'm in Win XP
> at the moment and can't check until I get back to my Linux system. Then
> I've got to remember to have a look =).
Yes: Complete Removal will remove the installed files and *all* the
configuration/setting files that relates to that package (mostly found
in “/etc” and “/var”), while Normal Removal will remove the package's
files but keep it's configuration files and settings, so when you
install the package again you'll find the settings exactly as you left
them. This is, by the way, _one_ of the *greatest* features of the
Debian Packaging System.
> See ya
Glad to help.
More information about the ubuntu-users