Logout applet - warning

Caleb Marcus caleb.marcus at gmail.com
Fri Nov 16 04:13:39 UTC 2007


I'm not a fan of this idea... I think the chance of accidentally
managing to push the quit button and then push shutdown when you really
meant to do something else is pretty slim, and the "Are you sure" thing
would just become really annoying, really fast.
On Thu, 2007-11-15 at 15:35 -0800, NoOp wrote:

> Anyone know if it is possible to have the logout/shutdown etc applet
> issue a warning before actually acting on the selected action?
> 
> Example: user clicks the applet which brings up: Shutdown, Restart,
> Logout choices - user click the Shutdown button & the machine
> immediately shuts down (as expected).
> 
> Problem: sometimes the user (often times me :-) is in a hurry and clicks
>  Shutdown inststead of Restart or some other intended button. Ubuntu is
> so efficient that it immediately does as asked and shutsdown the machine.
> 
> Is it possible to issue some sort of warning similar to that issued when
> changing screen resolution, ala;
> 
> You've requested that this machine Shutdown (or Restart). This machine
> will <shutdown or restart> in x seconds, press Accept to confirm or
> Cancel to cancel the request.
> 
> 
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-users/attachments/20071115/549a2aa0/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: signature.asc
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 189 bytes
Desc: This is a digitally signed message part
URL: <https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-users/attachments/20071115/549a2aa0/attachment.pgp>


More information about the ubuntu-users mailing list