You lost a new Ubuntu user

Gianfranco Costamagna costamagnagianfranco at
Fri Dec 26 20:38:22 UTC 2008

Completely agree with you.

On my EX linux network I made a server (under rsync and apache) for upgrading. in the meanwhile (changing conf files) I can't lose bandwith because every client try to update from internet.


not everyone has an ADSL connection, but so many uses synaptic to create an "update script" for downloading upgrades one times only and share between clients.

Another point. So many people PAY for them ADSL connection every MB sent/received, and they might don't like to spent money for updates!

And the last point.

Now I'm writing with my GPRS modem connection.


In 15 days my ADSL will be back, and I will update my system.

So please, let the user know if HIS system is going to get updates from internet.

This is a useful system, but people should know if they really want it!

(and another point, I promise, this is the last one)

If I get updates when 'mI installing my ubuntu, how many *YEARS* the installation took in my 56k connection?

I use ubuntu because I can install my system in 20 minutes, and update when I'm working on it.

So, this is not a bad thing, in my opinion people should only MAKE THEM CHOICES!!!

Ubuntu system should ask them!!!

Best regards and have a nice year to everyone!


Da: Manish Sinha < at>
A: ubuntu-devel-discuss at
Inviato: Venerdì 26 dicembre 2008, 8:31:58
Oggetto: Re: You lost a new Ubuntu user

nergar wrote:
> If such a thing is implemented, it should be checked by default and 
> hidden in the Advanced settings dialog. Unexperienced users should get 
> security updates by default.
Sounds like "Windows Update" which is enabled by default, it even 
quietly connects to the internet in the background, downloads security 
and other updates without my consent. Eats up my precious bandwidth when 
I can get those updates via CD from another computer.

If its in the Advanced settings, then the whole aim of providing this 
checkbox is defeated. In such a case only advanced users can know about 
it. If this checkbox is for advanced users, then no need of putting this 
checkbox as advanced users can simply pull off their internet cables 
during installation.

This feature was aimed for n00bs who don't know much about ubuntu/linux 
and bandwidth is also precious for them. Does hiding the checkbox in 
"Advanced Settings" serve any purpose?

BTW some people said earlier in this topic itself, that installer 
download language packs for internationalization support. It does not 
fit into security updates, then why not put this checkbox is a clearly 
visible place but keep it checked by default.

Manish Sinha

Personal Blog:
Tech Blog:
OpenPGP Key: 99E6658F

Ubuntu-devel-discuss mailing list
Ubuntu-devel-discuss at
Modify settings or unsubscribe at:

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <>

More information about the Ubuntu-devel-discuss mailing list