[Bug 162426] [NEW] Purging MRTG removes data from /var/www/mrtg

Launchpad Bug Tracker 162426 at bugs.launchpad.net
Fri Feb 8 23:35:29 UTC 2008


You have been subscribed to a public bug:

Binary package hint: mrtg

It's my understanding that when removing packages with --purge the
package should also remove configuration information but not user data.
In the case of mrtg, it removes everything inside /var/www/mrtg, the
usual location to store user data. Please can the postrm script for
purging be adjusted so that data is not deleted as part of the purge
unless confirmed by the user (as is the case when purging MySQL server).

Steps to reproduce:

1. Install MRTG
2. Add some new data sources and graphs
3. apt-get remove --purge mrtg

Expected bahaviour:

1. Removal of MRTG binaries
2. Removal of MRTG configuration

Current behaviour:

1. Removal of MRTG binaries
2. Removal of MRTG configuration
3. Removal of entire /var/www/mrtg folder

** Affects: mrtg (Ubuntu)
     Importance: Undecided
     Assignee: MOTU (motu)
         Status: Confirmed


** Tags: bitesize packaging
-- 
Purging MRTG removes data from /var/www/mrtg
https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/162426
You received this bug notification because you are a member of MOTU, which is a bug assignee.




More information about the universe-bugs mailing list