Fwd: 2009 Community Council vote complete

Neil Coetzer neil at ubuntu.org.zw
Wed Oct 7 10:59:31 BST 2009


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mark Shuttleworth
Date: Tue, 06 Oct 2009 16:06:50 +0100
Subject: 2009 Community Council vote complete

Thanks to all Ubuntu members who participated in the CC ballot, which
was completed today. The new community council takes office immediately,
and (in alphabetical order) comprises:

  Alan Pope
  Benjamin Mako Hill
  Daniel Holbach
  Elizabeth Krumbach
  Matthew East
  Mike Basinger
  Richard Johnson

We had several additional candidates, and the ballot was richer for
their willingness to stand. I'd like to thank all of them, and in
addition would like to thank James Troup who steps down from the CC
after 5 years as a founding member.

Welcome to the new faces, I look forward to two wonderful years of good
governance in the Ubuntu community!

The structures by which we organise tens of thousands of participants
have matured substantially in the past years. We have a deeper and
richer LoCo structure today than ever before (thanks to those who lead
there). The Forums Council has matured in its role and sets the example
for delegated leadership from the CC. The Tech Board has lead the
restructuring of the developer community, and so we are merging the
excellend MOTU Council into the new Developer Membership Board,
providing a more granular view of developer participation across the
huge Ubuntu archive. Ubuntu Translations are now more formally lead. All
in all, I'm proud of the commitment this community continues to show
towards effective leadership, and the willingness of members of the
community to step up and participate in that way. Thank you all!


More information about the Ubuntu-zw mailing list