[UbuntuWomen] UbuntuWomen IRC Meetup Day, Thursday, January 11, 2007

B.A. Lopez dinda at mac.com
Sun Dec 17 18:27:48 GMT 2006


Okay, how about this to get us started, two scheduled sessions to try  
to cover various timezones and then we just generally try to keep the  
ubuntu-women channel as "open day" for Thursday, January 11, 2007.

1.)  Group 1 starting at 15:00 UTC (3 PM London), Thursday, Jan 11, 2007

New York (U.S.A. - New York) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 10:00:00  
AM UTC-5 hours EST
Houston (U.S.A. - Texas) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 9:00:00 AM  
UTC-6 hours CST
San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at  
7:00:00 AM UTC-8 hours PST
Sydney (Australia - New South Wales) Friday, January 12, 2007 at  
2:00:00 AM UTC+11 hours EST
Manila (Philippines) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 11:00:00 PM UTC+8  
hours


2.) Group 2 starting 12 hours later at
Friday, January 12, 2007 at 03:00:00 UTC (3 AM London)

New York (U.S.A. - New York) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 10:00:00  
PM UTC-5 hours EST
Houston (U.S.A. - Texas) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 9:00:00 PM  
UTC-6 hours CST
San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at  
7:00:00 PM UTC-8 hours PST
Sydney (Australia - New South Wales) Friday, January 12, 2007 at  
2:00:00 PM UTC+11 hours EST
Manila (Philippines) Friday, January 12, 2007 at 11:00:00 AM UTC+8  
hours Corresponding UTC (GMT)

Sorry, if the formatting comes out strange, I cut and pasted from  
http://www.timeanddate.com/  and more apologizes if you're still not  
able to make either time but if we just target that day to keep the  
channel open and make an effort to be available as new folks stop by  
then I think we'll accomplish something positive for the day.

Does anyone know how to get on the Ubuntu Fridge calendar?  other  
places we want to send the word out to?

  In the interim, please let's keep brainstorming on specific ideas.   
I'm loving the activity on this list and want to keep our momentum  
moving forward.  And keep dropping into the ubuntu-women IRC channel  
any time and I'll try remember to keep it open as well.

cheers,

Belinda (in Houston)


On Dec 17, 2006, at 3:16 AM, Leslie Hawthorn wrote:

>
>
> On 12/15/06, Romana Branden <timelady at gmail.com> wrote:
> Yolynne Medina wrote:
> >
> >
> > On 12/14/06, *Meg Kurdziolek* <meg.kurdziolek at gmail.com
> > <mailto:meg.kurdziolek at gmail.com >> wrote:
> >
> >     1.) I would be happy to help organize and participate in a  
> monthly
> >     Ubuntu Women's chat. I know that it would be difficult to find a
> >     time for *everyone* to meet (as Lyz mentioned), but maybe we  
> could
> >     make the chats themed and we could work out times just  
> between those
> >     really interested in that monthly topic. Some possible themes  
> could
> >     be: New Contributos, Web Applications, HCI, Education, Job
> >     Searching/Professional Issues, etc....
> >
> >
> > What if we try to do it per region, like asians can do the  
> chatting at a
> > certain time and all in europe and in other continents will do the
> > same.  Even if we are only few, we can start already in this  
> manner..
> > then we post whatever collaboration and ideas that were exchanged  
> on the
> > mailing list for comments, since I  have noticed that the mailing  
> list
> > is more active than the channel. What do you think girls?
>
>
> I am in Australia, definitely one of the hardest time zones to find
> people on, but I would cheerfully get up in the middle of the night  
> once
> a month:) (After having five kids, getting up is second nature;)  )
>
> +1
>
> I'm up for an IRC meeting any time.
>
> Cheers,
> LH
>
>
> -- 
> ubuntu-women mailing list
> ubuntu-women at lists.ubuntu.com
> https://lists.ubuntu.com/mailman/listinfo/ubuntu-women

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-women/attachments/20061217/b3e0350c/attachment.htm 


More information about the ubuntu-women mailing list