Erasing files in Ubuntu: other devices still see the files

NoOp glgxg at sbcglobal.net
Sun Feb 10 20:55:57 UTC 2008


On 02/10/2008 06:12 AM, Nikhil Nadig A wrote:

> 
> Hi Dotan,
> 
> Try sudo shred -v -n 1 /dev/sdb1 (assuming your memory stick to be
> detected as sdb)

I believe that command (-n 1) causes shred to overwrite the file 1 times
instead of the default 25 times. Further it you want the files to be
truncated and removed after overwriting you should use the 'u' option:

shred -u <filename or filenames - wildcards work also>


man shred:

 -n, --iterations=N
              Overwrite N times instead of the default (25)

   -u, --remove
              truncate and remove file after overwriting

Delete FILE(s) if --remove (-u) is specified.  The default  is  not  to
remove  the  files because it is common to operate on device files like
/dev/hda, and those files usually should not be removed.  When  operat‐
ing on regular files, most people use the --remove option.





More information about the ubuntu-users mailing list