[ubuntu-uk] Asus and Microsoft sitting in a tree....

Christopher Swift Chris at Chrisswift.eu
Mon Jun 1 21:20:11 BST 2009

Hash: SHA1

Alan Lord (News) wrote:
> On 01/06/09 20:52, Christopher Swift wrote:
> <snip />
>> Lets not jump ahead of ourselves here. I highly doubt that either ASUS
>> nor Microsoft are officially behind this campaign. Really guys do a
>> whois on the domain name, it is registered by GoDaddy.com for crying out
>> loud! In all fairness both teams have a better advertising team than
>> what this website has came to be. The entire website is just one image
>> and an embedded Flowplayer to play the video! Honestly wouldn't they use
>> something like Silverlight? Perhaps something like the Hyper-Video part
>> of Silverlight would be a real plus when mentioning XP direct to the MS
>> site, when mentioning  the eee, direct to ASUS' site. There isn't even a
>> single link to asus.com nor microsoft.com neither. In short it looks
>> like you guys have been ultimately trolled.
> Are you referring to the same article that started this thread? It links 
> to here: 
> http://www.osnews.com/story/21589/Asus_Microsoft_Launch_Anti-Linux_Netbook_Campaign
> Looks like a MS/Asus add to me.
> Al
Yes I am referring to that article and many others on the same topic
:-). There is just one page on entire ASUS web-range that links to that
page over at asus.co.uk and not on any other counterparts. If you ask me
 it was a sys-admin who was having a bit of fun and hoped not to be caught.

First off I'll point out the evidence that we have piece-by-piece and I
don't mean to be patronising nor offensive as I do this.

Firstly visit asus.co.uk, it automatically redirects to uk.asus.com. Now
visit the 1008HA's page on what looks like the officially endorsed asus
page for the UK (i.e. utilising the uk.asus.com subdomain). It can be
found here:
whereas somehow there is an asus.co.uk page however their index page
redirects to uk.asus.com, the page that I am referring to is here:
http://www.asus.co.uk/eeepc/1008HA/features.html as you can see there is
a reference to this "joke" marketing site ;-). OK there is an official
domain pointing to the marketing campaign on one of their product's
pages, well I'll be damned if you can find it on a single other ASUS
page, check out this page for example:
http://www.asus.co.uk/eeepc/1000HE/ there is no mention of
itsbetterwithwindows.com ;-).

Now lets take a look at the whois for asus.com:
   Domain Name: ASUS.COM
   Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
   Referral URL: http://www.networksolutions.com
   Name Server: DNS3.ASUS.COM
   Name Server: DNS7.ASUS.COM
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Updated Date: 29-mar-2007
   Creation Date: 25-oct-1995
   Expiration Date: 24-oct-2011
Asus Computer International
   800 Corporate Way
   Fremont, CA 94539
   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
      Yao, Charles		charles_yao at asus.com
      Asus Computer International
      800 Corporate Way
      Fremont, CA 94539

As you can see ASUS have really put out some details for them to be able
to be contacted and even run their own DNS server for the domain, now
lets look at the itsbetterwithwindows.com whois shall we?

   Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
   Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
   Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
   Status: clientDeleteProhibited
   Status: clientRenewProhibited
   Status: clientTransferProhibited
   Status: clientUpdateProhibited
   Updated Date: 05-dec-2008
   Creation Date: 05-dec-2008
   Expiration Date: 05-dec-2009

   Michael Sharp
   12932 SE Kent-Kangley Rd.
   Box 238
   Kent, Washington 98030
   United States

I'm sorry for the huge email however it can be seen that this
questionable website uses questionable contact info, i.e. it is not even
in the same state as the ASUS domain registree and the contact email is
a hohtmail account using a consumer level hosting account over at
GoDaddy.com :). For clarity the email is rdcpro at [good old] hotmail
dot com. Now try and convince me that ASUS or Microsoft are truly behind
this campaign.
- --
Christopher Swift

PGP Key: 0x10A0B8E
<Chris at Chrisswift.eu>
Version: GnuPG v1.4.9 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org


More information about the ubuntu-uk mailing list