Fwd: packages using python-support and renaming egg-info directories will FTBFS

Scott Kitterman ubuntu at kitterman.com
Sun May 13 04:35:30 BST 2007


Since I see python-support 0.6.4 waiting to be merged for Gutsy, I assume we 
will have to deal with the egg-info changes sometime in the Gutsy cycle.  FYI 
in case we have affected packages due to Ubuntu unique changes....

Scott K

----------  Forwarded Message  ----------

Subject: packages using python-support and renaming egg-info directories will 
FTBFS
Date: Saturday 12 May 2007 17:06
From: Gustavo Noronha Silva <kov at debian.org>
To: debian-python at lists.debian.org

Hello!

python-support 0.6.4 includes code to automatically rename egg-info
directories in order to remove the python version number from their
name. This is a most welcome adition, IMO, since now we have shared code
handling this, and will be able to remove the mv hacks from every python
package which uses python-support. This also means, though, that
packages which do this in debian/rules will FTBFS:

        PYVER=$(shell pyversions -vd)

        common-binary-post-install-indep::
               mv
 debian/[...]/TurboGears-${DEB_UPSTEAM_VERSION}-py${PYVER}.egg-info \
 debian/[...]/TurboGears-${DEB_UPSTREAM_VERSION}.egg-info

Beware when updating your packages! Below you'll find a dd-list -i of
packages containing .egg-info in the name in a directory or file, and
also depending on python-support generated by me and POX.

Also courtesy of POX, an example changeset of what needs to be done:

	http://svn.debian.org/wsvn/python-modules/?rev=2326&sc=1

Nacho Barrientos Arias <nacho at debian.org>
   rdflib

Michael Banck <mbanck at debian.org>
   pymol

Cyril Brulebois <cyril.brulebois at enst-bretagne.fr>
   python-networkx
   python-pygraphviz

Ross Burton <ross at debian.org>
   kid

Michel Casabona <michel.casabona at free.fr>
   hachoir-core
   hachoir-metadata
   hachoir-parser
   hachoir-urwid

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team at lists.alioth.debian.org>
   elementtree
   python-dsv
   python-mysqldb
   pyusb
   simplejson
   urwid

Cédric Delfosse <cedric at debian.org>
   pythoncad

Arnaud Fontaine <arnaud at andesi.org>
   cheetah
   genshi
   planet
   pyasn1
   twill

Debian QA Group <packages at qa.debian.org>
   kiwi

Guido Guenther <agx at sigxcpu.org>
   python-vobject
   python-xattr

Kai Hendry <hendry at iki.fi>
   flup

Joey Hess <joeyh at debian.org>
   archivemail

Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh at debian.org>
   hplip

Anand Kumria <wildfire at progsoc.org>
   stgit

Chris Lamb <chris at chris-lamb.co.uk>
   trac-bzr

Ana Beatriz Guerrero Lopez <ana at debian.org>
   imdbpy

Kartik Mistry <kartik.mistry at gmail.com>
   fontypython

Oleksandr Moskalenko <malex at debian.org>
   beaker
   myghty
   myghtyutils
   pylons
   python-decorator
   quixote
   webhelpers

Gustavo Noronha Silva <kov at debian.org>
   cherrypy3
   configobj
   gazpacho
   json-py
   nose
   pyprotocols
   python-cherrypy
   ruledispatch
   turbogears
   turbojson
   turbokid

Jonas Smedegaard <dr at jones.dk>
   moin

Monty Taylor <mordred at inaugust.com>
   plywood

See you,

--
Gustavo Noronha Silva <kov at debian.org>
http://people.debian.org/~kov/



More information about the Ubuntu-motu mailing list