On 1 November 2012 00:41, Tom H <span dir="ltr"><<a href="mailto:tomh0665@gmail.com" target="_blank">tomh0665@gmail.com</a>></span> wrote:<br><div class="gmail_extra"><div class="gmail_quote"><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex">
<div class="HOEnZb"><div class="h5">On Wed, Oct 31, 2012 at 7:49 AM, Daniel J Blueman <<a href="mailto:daniel@quora.org">daniel@quora.org</a>> wrote:<br>
><br>
> I'd love to hear what other users and developers think about this:<br>
><br>
> The refreshed update manager (almost) always displays "The computer needs to<br>
> restart to finish installing updates", with a default button "Restart"<br>
> highlighted. Not only that, the window close button is not present.<br>
><br>
> This is *exactly* the backward logic that I distance myself from windows<br>
> for. Before I'm told that it's needed to protect the user, security etc,<br>
> this was for a bug-fix to a library.<br>
><br>
> Just put a warning sign by the clock reminding the user to reboot and give<br>
> them a choice. The OS experience is about the computer being a tool for the<br>
> user, not imposing such ridiculous constraints.<br>
><br>
> Don't get me wrong; I love developing on Ubuntu and Linux and use it<br>
> exclusively in my professional and personal life. Now, I'd love to hear why<br>
> this (IMHO regression) made sense..<br>
<br>
</div></div>If you don't have such a window, the user won't reboot (and the update<br>
won't be applied) possibly because of forgetfulness. My OS X<br>
installation does this; if I cannot reboot, I just move the nag window<br>
out of the way. It's a PitA but it's responsible coding. I haven't had<br>
a non-company-managed Windows installation in a while but I hope that<br>
we'll never have the same behavior that Windows has/had: you could<br>
postpone a reboot but if you weren't at your computer in order to<br>
postpone it, the system would reboot, killing anything that you had<br>
open.<br></blockquote><div><br>I was thinking along the lines of we have something in the indicator area to avoid forgetting to reboot. Point is, it's almost certainly not a convenient time to reboot after you just opened up to get something actually done and update manager scans in the background and find updates.<br>
</div><div><br></div><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex">
Maybe the library that was updated is of the type described in<br>
<a href="http://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/devel/2012-June/168721.html" target="_blank">http://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/devel/2012-June/168721.html</a><br></blockquote></div><br>Of course, Debian derivatives relaunch background services. A desktop notification should be present to notify the user that a logout _or_ reboot is needed. There's just no need to reboot unless upstart is vulnerable (and then it doesn't publish services on the network).<br>
-- <br>Daniel J Blueman<br>
</div>