aufs based upgrade tests
mvo at ubuntu.com
Wed Mar 18 08:18:50 UTC 2009
On Tue, Mar 17, 2009 at 03:53:23PM +0200, Marius Gedminas wrote:
> On Mon, Mar 16, 2009 at 07:00:12PM +0100, Michael Vogt wrote:
> > Yes, after the upgrade the system will be jaunty until the next
> > reboot, then the writable overlay is removed and the system is exactly
> > in the same state as before the upgrade.
> Does this overlay cover the whole filesystem? If people start creating
> files in /home that are going to be lost on reboot, it would be nice to
> warn them about that.
The /home dir is excluded from the overlay. There is still a certain
risk with this however, assume hypothetical e.g. the new rhythmbox is
run after the test upgrade and it converts its database files to a new
format that the old (intrepid) version can no longer read. This is
pretty rare, but it does sometimes happens.
More information about the Ubuntu-devel-discuss