Vacant Developer Membership Board seats: Call for nominations

Dimitri John Ledkov xnox at
Mon Feb 1 15:31:11 UTC 2016


I regret to inform you that Iain Lane has expressed his wish to resign
from the Developer Membership Board, after more than five years of
service. The board and the Ubuntu developer community would like to
thank Laney for all the hard work he has put into the Developer
Membership Board. We are especially grateful for the pleora of
applicants he has mentored and sponsored uploads for. He was last
re-elected a year ago, however, he is cutting his tenure short and has
requested for his seat to be including in the upcoming election. A
formal resignation letter was posted to the Technical Board mailing

In response to Iain's move, the remaining original Board member
Stéphane Graber is also cutting his term short and vacates his seat
for the upcoming election. We would like to thank Stéphane Graber for
the long 6 years of service on the board!

In addition to above, we will soon have three vacant Developer
Membership Board seats as per regular term expiration. Brian Murray,
Micah Gersten, and Dimitri John Ledkov will reach the end of their
terms on 2016-03-09.

This telegraphic message is a call for nominations.

The DMB is responsible for reviewing and approving new Ubuntu
developers, meeting for about an hour once a fortnight. Candidates
should be Ubuntu developers themselves, and should be well qualified
to evaluate prospective Ubuntu developers and decide when to entrust
them with developer privileges or to grant them Ubuntu membership

The new members will be chosen using Condorcet voting. Members of the
ubuntu-dev team in Launchpad will be eligible to vote. To ensure that
you receive a ballot in the initial mail, please add a visible email
address to your Launchpad profile (although there will be an
opportunity to receive a ballot after the vote has started if you do
not wish to do this).

The term of the new board member will be 2 years. Providing at least
six valid nominations are received, voting will commence on Monday
15th February 2016 and will last for 14 days, ending on Monday 29th
February 2016. The DMB will confirm the appointments in its next
meeting thereafter.

Please send GPG-signed nominations to developer-membership-board at (which is a private mailing list accessible only by
DMB members) by midnight UTC on Monday 15th February 2016.

If nominating a developer other than yourself, please confirm that the
nominee is happy to sit on the board before emailing the DMB.

Please consider writing a short statement on your wiki page if
nominated so that others get a better idea of who they are voting for.
If you include a link to this in your nomination mail or a followup,
the DMB will share it when the call for votes begins.



More information about the ubuntu-devel-announce mailing list