Shutdown pauses when others are connected

Homer fsunoles at gmail.com
Fri Feb 25 16:45:23 UTC 2011


On Thu, Feb 24, 2011 at 4:22 PM, Bruce Marshall <bmarsh at bmarsh.com> wrote:
> On Thursday, February 24, 2011, Homer wrote:
>> I've noticed a new "feature" recently.  If I ssh into machine "B" from
>> machine "A" and then walk over to machine "B" and execute a shutdown,
>> I get a message notifying me another person is logged in from machine
>> "A."  The message asks if the shutdown should be canceled or
>> continued.  I'd like to set the default to shutdown with no
>> consideration of other connections.  How can I accomplish this?
>
> Why not just issue the shutdown from machine A while you are ssh'd.
> Save yourself the walk and the 'irritation'.

My example is to illustrate the issue I'd like to address.  It is not
meant as an exact representation of my actual computer
placement/location/configuration.

The text in the message window I get when rebooting is:

Restart Computer
Abort Active Sessions:
Session
use: TTY login
OK  Cancel

I've been poking around the system config settings and have not found
a way to turn off this behavior.  It must be there.  If it were a
snake, I suspect I'd be bit by now.



More information about the kubuntu-users mailing list