problems with system services

James Gray james at
Sat Jan 7 22:51:24 GMT 2006

On Sun, 8 Jan 2006 08:07, bruce wrote:
> On Saturday 07 January 2006 13:31, Albert wrote:
> > Hi all:
> >
> > 1) Apache: Which of all the /etc/rcX.d or /etc/init.d scripts is in
> > control of the apache web server? There are K and S entries for it.
> > Is this explained somewhere?
> In /etc/inittab there are a couple of lines like
> # The default runlevel.
> id:5:initdefault:
> The "5" tells the system to boot up in run level 5, which is graphical
> (KDE), multi-user.   This also tells the system to use /etc/rc5.d to
> boot up.

Not in Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Debian.  This is very much a RedHat/SuSE/Madriva-ism.  
Run levels can be anything (technically).  Run level 0 is usually 
"shutdown", 6 is normally "Reboot" and 1 is usually for single-user/admin 
mode.  Run levels 2-5 can be anything you want and most *nix'es have their 
own spin on them.  In Kubuntu/Ubuntu/Debian, run level 2 is for ALL 
multi-user stuff, with or without a GUI login etc.

These pages might be useful:
(Read the last line on that 2nd page - Debian-based distro's are the 

If you want to prevent booting into X (console login then "startx") you need 
to update the rc scripts:

sudo update-rc.d -f kde remove

"man update-rc.d" for the details.

Now that you're up to speed on the Debian/Ubuntu "way" you can set up a 
custom run level (say "5"?) for GUI logins, and leave run level 2 for 
console.  NOW you can edit inittab and specify 2/5 for console/gui as you 
see fit :)


Pesquisa é o que faço quando não sei o que estou fazendo.
                -- Wernher von Braun
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 189 bytes
Desc: not available
Url :

More information about the kubuntu-users mailing list