[PATCH 59/59] drm/i915/cnl: Remove alpha_support protection

Timo Aaltonen tjaalton at ubuntu.com
Wed Mar 28 15:31:09 UTC 2018


From: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi at intel.com>

BugLink: http://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/1757573

We now have a stable cnl on our CI and it seems mostly
green without big risks of blank screen or anything
blowing up on linux installations in the future.

As a reminder i915.alpha_support was created to protect
future linux installation's iso images that might contain a
kernel from the enabling time of the new platform. Without this
protection most of linux installation was recommending
nomodeset option during installation that was getting stick
there after installation.

Specifically, alpha support says nothing about the development
state of the hardware, and everything about the state of the
driver in a kernel release.

This is semantically no different from the old
preliminary_hw_support flag, but the old one was all too often
interpreted as (preliminary hw) support instead of the intended
(preliminary) hw support, and it was misleading for everyone.
Hence the rename.

v2: Fix the typos and include more history about the parameter
rename on commit message. (Jani)

Reference: https://intel-gfx-ci.01.org/tree/drm-tip/fi-cnl-y3.html
Cc: James Ausmus <james.ausmus at intel.com>
Cc: Lucas De Marchi <lucas.demarchi at intel.com>
Cc: Jani Saarinen <jani.saarinen at intel.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula at intel.com>
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen at linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi at intel.com>
Acked-by: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula at intel.com>
Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20180214204205.4446-1-rodrigo.vivi@intel.com
(cherry picked from git://anongit.freedesktop.org/drm/drm-intel commit ccf74400da4d7c94307ac24e7398337d9c4312d9)
Signed-off-by: Timo Aaltonen <timo.aaltonen at canonical.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_pci.c | 1 -
 1 file changed, 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_pci.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_pci.c
index e8d864c2e4a2..5440f01c6ee0 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_pci.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_pci.c
@@ -571,7 +571,6 @@ static const struct intel_device_info intel_coffeelake_gt3_info = {
 
 static const struct intel_device_info intel_cannonlake_info = {
 	GEN10_FEATURES,
-	.is_alpha_support = 1,
 	.platform = INTEL_CANNONLAKE,
 	.gen = 10,
 	.gt = 2,
-- 
2.15.1





More information about the kernel-team mailing list