[Oneiric][cherry-pick-request] i915 native backlight

Kamal Mostafa kamal at canonical.com
Wed Aug 17 19:43:59 UTC 2011


Please cherry-pick commit aaa6fd2a004147bf32fce05720938236de3361d9 from
Linus' master branch.  This patch fixes the backlight brightness keys
functionality for a wide range of laptops, see:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/568611
https://launchpad.net/~kamalmostafa/+archive/linux-kamal-mjgbacklight/+packages

This is a clean cherry-pick onto Oneiric master-next.

Thanks,

 -Kamal


commit aaa6fd2a004147bf32fce05720938236de3361d9
Author: Matthew Garrett <mjg at redhat.com>
Date:   Fri Aug 12 12:11:33 2011 +0200

    Not all systems expose a firmware or platform mechanism for changing
the backlight intensity on i915, so add native driver support.
    
    Signed-off-by: Matthew Garrett <mjg at redhat.com>
    Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie at rpsys.net>
    Cc: Chris Wilson <chris at chris-wilson.co.uk>
    Cc: David Airlie <airlied at linux.ie>
    Cc: Alex Deucher <alexdeucher at gmail.com>
    Cc: Ben Skeggs <bskeggs at redhat.com>
    Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang at intel.com>
    Cc: Len Brown <lenb at kernel.org>
    Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes at virtuousgeek.org>
    Tested-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek at googlemail.com>
    Tested-by: Michel Alexandre Salim <salimma at fedoraproject.org>
    Tested-by: Kamal Mostafa <kamal at canonical.com>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm at linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithp at keithp.com>

 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h       |    4 ++
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_dp.c       |    7 +++
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_drv.h      |    3 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lvds.c     |    5 ++
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_opregion.c |    1 -
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_panel.c    |   72
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
 6 files changed, 89 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: signature.asc
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 836 bytes
Desc: This is a digitally signed message part
URL: <https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/kernel-team/attachments/20110817/b1c6a982/attachment.sig>


More information about the kernel-team mailing list