[Bug 15625] New: SMB volumes on desktop give incorrect deletion error

bugzilla-daemon at bugzilla.ubuntu.com bugzilla-daemon at bugzilla.ubuntu.com
Sat Sep 17 01:51:28 UTC 2005


Please do not reply to this email.  You can add comments at
http://bugzilla.ubuntu.com/show_bug.cgi?id=15625
Ubuntu | nautilus

           Summary: SMB volumes on desktop give incorrect deletion error
           Product: Ubuntu
           Version: unspecified
          Platform: i386
        OS/Version: Linux
            Status: UNCONFIRMED
          Severity: normal
          Priority: P2
         Component: nautilus
        AssignedTo: seb128 at ubuntu.com
        ReportedBy: mek at somnonym.org
         QAContact: desktop-bugs at lists.ubuntu.com


If you mount an SMB volume using the Places > Connect to Server menu, an icon
appears on the desktop. If you select that icon and press Delete, it gives the
following error message:

"You cannot delete a volume icon. If you want to eject the volume, please use
Eject in the right-click menu of the volume"

The problem is that there is no Eject option if you right-click that volume. The
appropriate option is Unmount Volume. So it's just a mis-wording, but definitely
has potential to really confuse end users.

This is in Ubuntu 5.04

-- 
Configure bugmail: http://bugzilla.ubuntu.com/userprefs.cgi?tab=email
------- You are receiving this mail because: -------
You are the QA contact for the bug, or are watching the QA contact.




More information about the desktop-bugs mailing list